DCRI’s Alex Fanaroff receives AHA Funding Award

July 11, 2017 – The award supports cardiovascular researchers who are at the beginning of their careers.

Incoming Co-Chief DCRI Fellow Alex Fanaroff, MD, was recently named a recipient of the competitive American Heart Association (AHA) Fellow-to-Faculty Transition Award, which provides funding for beginner physician-scientists in cardiovascular or stroke research.

“The fact that an organization like the AHA thinks it worthy to commit its resources to me is extremely humbling,” said Fanaroff. “For an avid clinical researcher, there’s nothing quite like devoting the majority of their time doing research without worrying about how they are going to fund it.”

Currently pursuing research focused on describing and improving processes of care for patients with acute coronary syndromes and stable angina, Fanaroff has been a student, intern, resident, and fellow in the Duke School of Medicine for more than ten years. He says that this grant is the opportunity of a lifetime, which will not only enhance his chances of obtaining a high-quality faculty or staff appointment but also improve his success and retention in an investigative career in cardiovascular science.

With around 60 applicants each year, the applicant success rate for the program is about 20 percent.

“It is rare for a career development grant to be funded on the first application,” said Fanaroff, “but my grant mentors at the DCRI and in the Division of Cardiology encouraged me throughout the application process to really think about the direction of my career and my research, which provided focus and gave me confidence and hope.”

Tracy Wang, MD, DCRI’s Fellowship Associate Program Director and a proud mentor of Fanaroff for the past two years, says that it has been wonderful to watch his research skills maturing.

“Alex is the type of fellow who takes the ball and runs with it,” said Wang. “This AHA award is a demonstration of that. I have no doubt that he will be a leader within our field in the next ten years.”