DCRI Leadership

DCRI Leadership

Physicians, Researchers, and Operational Experts

Seeing things from different perspectives, and agreeing on the right way forward. Building new ideas individually, and making them work collaboratively. Finding data for a diversity of challenges, and sharing them to accelerate new solutions. This is the work of everyone at the DCRI — a team of renowned faculty leaders, researchers, and experienced operational experts coming together to follow a singular pursuit: improving outcomes for patients around the world through innovative clinical research.

Executive Leadership


Eric D. Peterson, MD, MPH, FAHA, FACC

Executive Director, Duke Clinical Research Institute
Professor of Medicine, Cardiology
Fred Cobb, MD, Distinguished Professor of Medicine


John H. Alexander, MD, MHS, FACC

DCRI Faculty Associate Director
DCRI Director, Cardiovascular Research
Vice Chief for Clinical Research, Division of Cardiology, Duke Department of Medicine
Professor of Medicine, Cardiology


Daniel K. Benjamin, Jr., MD, PhD, MPH

DCRI Faculty Associate Director
Kiser-Arena Distinguished Professor of Pediatrics
Principal Investigator and Chair of the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development’s Pediatric Trials Network

Lisa Berdan

Lisa Berdan

Director, Global Outcomes Commercial Megatrials

Lesley Curtis

Lesley Curtis, PhD

Director, Data Solutions for Health Services Research
Director, Center for Pragmatic Health Systems Research
Chair, Department of Population Health Sciences
Professor of Medicine

Matt Gross

Chief Solutions Officer

Nicole Hedrick

Nicole Hedrick

Chief Human Resources Officer

Adrian Hernandez

Adrian F. Hernandez, MD, MHS

Vice Dean for Clinical Research,
Duke University School of Medicine
DCRI Faculty Associate Director
Director, Health Services and
Outcomes Research
Professor of Medicine, Cardiology

Sara Holleran

Sara Holleran, MPH

Chief of Staff to Eric Peterson, MD, MPH

Walter Kwiatek

Walter M. Kwiatek

Executive Director,
Technology and Data Solutions

Susan Landis

Susan P. Landis

Head of Strategic Communications

Kristen O'Berry

Kristen O'Berry

Director, Academic Affairs

Michael Pencina

Michael J. Pencina, PhD

Director of Biostatistics
DCRI Faculty Associate Director
Professor of Biostatistics & Bioinformatics

Baljit Samra

Baljit (Boo) Samra

Chief Operating Officer

Kevin Schulman

Kevin Schulman, MD, MBA

DCRI Faculty Associate Director
Director, Center for Clinical and Genetic Economics
Professor of Medicine, General Internal Medicine

Aimee Turner Chief Financial Officer

Aimee L. Turner

Chief Financial Officer

Operational Leadership

Pamela Buchholz

Senior Director, Clinical Trials Domain

David Charron

Director, Quality by Design

Elizabeth Fraulo

Senior Director, Health Services Research

Donna Hamel

Director of Operations, Duke Early Phase Clinical Research

Lauran Hoders

Associate Director, Strategic Communications

Debra Harris

Associate Director, Pragmatic Health Systems Research

Michelle Immelman

Co-Director, Clinical Operations

Dawn Landis, RN

Assistant Director, Imaging

Clare Matti

Assistant Director, Regulatory Services

Amanda McBroom, PhD

Manager, Evidence-Based Practice Center

Brian McCourt

Director, Data Solutions

Dana McDonald

Associate Director, Human Resources Processes and Analytics

Suzanne Pfeifer, MPH

Director, Business Development and Contracts Management

Renée Pridgen

Co-Director, Clinical Operations

Tyrus Rorick

Associate Director, Megatrials

Reza Rostami

Assistant Director, QA and Regulatory Compliance

David Sielaty

Director, Facilities

Kristina Sigmon, MA

Director, Statistical Operations

David Tillotson

Senior Director, Finance

Matt Wilson, RN

Director, Clinical Events Classification – Safety Surveillance

Jamie Young

Director, Sponsored Projects Administration